• Wi-fi campus
  • Plastic free campus
  • 24X7 CCTV Surveillance

Political Science

Politics is the art of the possible, the attainable — the art of the next best...........Otto von Bismarck

Political Science

The Department of Political Science started since the inception of the college and developed steadily with Sri Sachindranath Bhattacharya and Sri Kamalendu Ganguly as the first two lecturers. The Department progressed over the time and the subject was then offered as a general course of study.

Honours in Political Science was introduced in the year 2001. Smt. Mousoomi Nandi and Dr. Raj Kumar Kothari nurtured the Department successfully with its newly introduced Honours course and the Department gradually grew from strength to strength. The present faculty includes Smt. Mousoomi Nandi, Smt. Manidipa Mistri and Dr. Samir Kumar Mukherjee.

Besides the usual class lectures, seminars project work and group discussions are also held which benefit the students immensely. Student- friendly atmosphere and a good teacher-student relationship are the hallmarks of the Department.

Department about Banner

Eligibility Criteria

Study Level Cut-off marks at Entry Approved intake
UG (Honours) As per C.U. norms 30


Faculty Directory

Photo Name Qualification Designation Email
Faculty Mousoomi Nandi M.A, M.Phil. Associate Professor nandimousoomi@gmail.com
Faculty Manidipa Mistri M.A., M.Phil. Assistant Professor manidipamistri@gmail.com
Faculty Samir Kumar Mukherje M.A., Ph.D. Guest Teacher dr_skm05@rediffmail.com

Academic Activities

Sl. No.

Type of Activity

(Ex: Invited talk / students’ seminar, etc.)

Name/ Theme to the activity


Resource person/s


Interdepartmental Lectures

Swadeshi movement

11th Sept, 2015.


Dr. Keya Banerjee of department of History of Jogesh Chandra Chaudhuri Colllege


Invited Lecture

Human Rights

12th December 2015

Dr. Raj Kumar Kothari of Vidyasagar University


Students Seminar

Women’s Empowerment

19th Sept, 2015. 



Special Classes

Executive and legislature in UK, USA & PRC.


16th and 30th January 2016

Dr. Raj Kumar Kothari of Vidyasagar University


Parent-Teachers' meeting

First year Honours students

Session 2015-'16 on 29th January, 2016.




Wall Magazine

Great Political Thinkers

15th February, 2016



Attended seminar

Empowerment of Women in Post Independent India

2nd February, 2016.

 Muralidhar Girls' College, Kolkata


Interdepartmental Lecture in the Dept. of Economics (JCC College)

Features of Indian Constitution

3rd Sept, 2016.

Ms. Mousoomi Nandi (Associate Prof.) of Political Science department


Parent-Teachers' meeting

First year Honours students

Session 2016-'17 on 3rd Sept, 2016.




Interdepartmental class


Indian Constitution


3rd September, 2016.

Ms. Mousoomi Nandi (Associate Prof. JCC College)


Interdepartmental class


 Cold war


2nd December, 2016.

Dr. Keya Banerjee (JCC College)


Parent-Teacher meeting


3rd September, 2016.



Educational Tour to Vidhan Shabha and Calcutta High Court


14th December, 2016.

Departmental of Political Science



Human Rights

10th December, 2016

Associate Professor Ms. Mousoomi Nandi



French Museum (Chandannagar)  and Armenian Church (Chinsurah)

16th December, 2016

JCC College



UGC sponsored National Seminar

Swami Vivekananda: His Philosophy & Thought on Politics, Society and Literature

10th and 11th February, 2017

Prof. Subhendu. Mund (Ex-Professor IIT, BBSR, Bhubaneswar)


  Dr. Nilanjana Deb, Dept. of English, Jadavpur 



 Prof. Prahlad Kr Sarkar (Ex-Professor of Philosophy, CU             






Cultural Programme

Vasanta Utsab

18th March, 2017


Extension Activities

Educational Excursion- Visited West Bengal Legislative Assembly (Budget Session) and Kolkata High Court with the students of Department of Political Science on 25th February 2015.

Student's Zone



Department Year Success Rate
 Political Science (Hons.)

2014 100%
2013 100%
2012 100%


Future Plans

  • Future Plans for the year of 2016-’17-The department is planning for interdisciplinary classes, invited lectures, panel discussion, students seminar, special classes by visiting professors, excursion etc.


The Department of Political Science is planning for a National Seminar in collaboration with Department of English and Department of Philosophy.

Contact us

Smt. Mousoomi Nandi- nandimousoomi@gmail.com